SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
frdnicholas

Main tomato stem branches

frdnicholas
14 years ago

I have just learned in pruning tomatoes to keep the main branch and prune off all the suckers that grow between the main stem and leaves. On all my plants, the main stem has divided into 2 main branches. Does this need pruning, and if so, how? Do I choose the thicker of the 2 and cut off the other, or leave the 2 and just keep pruning the suckers off both?

Comments (20)

• tsheets
    14 years ago

I'm no expert in pruning, but, I would leave the two main stems, and just remove the suckers.

• johnny_tomato_seed
    14 years ago

I can see the non-pruners shaking their heads right now. So I will attempt to ease their pain and time. Some branches split exactly in half and you can't tell which one is the main one.

1) What reason(s) are you pruning to 1 stem ?

2) From where did you read this ?

• Related Discussions

tomato side suckers off of a tomato stem

Q

Comments (3)
    Since it is a cherry tomato, I would be reluctant to prune any suckers this far up on the main stem. I normally prune some of the lower suckers on all indeterminate plants to insure good air circulation around the plants close to the ground. However, I let higher suckers grow so as to maximize production.
    ...See More

Mulberry branches coming off at main stem? (pic)

Q

Comments (4)
    IE is especially vigorous as a young/small tree(probably most mulberries are) - trying to train one by pruning has been likened to trying to train a firehose. As they attain some size, they slow down a bit and seem to be less 'fragile', with respect to vigorous shoots tearing out. I'm unaware of any disease problem that would be causing this...only disease issue I've had with IE is 'popcorn disease' affecting the fruits.
    ...See More

Split main stem = green tomato cake

Q

Comments (6)
    Haven't made it yet--planning to this weekend. I'll let you know, but hey, it's a Paula Deen cake. :)
    ...See More