SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
brianpmccullough

What's wrong with my tomato plants (garden newbie)?

brianpmccullough
14 years ago

Hello, I am new to gardening and growing tomaters. This is my first growing season.

I planted some tomato seeds on April 2, 2010. I've been keeping them in a well light room in my house at a temperature between 68 - 76 F. They were getting about 3-4 hours of "direct" sunlight per day through a window. About 3 weeks in, I needed to vacuum and moved them away from the light source. I forgot to put them back for 2-3 days.

To compensate, we had a few nice, sunny, 75F degree days, so I put them outside for about 4-6 hours on 2 consecutive days (with just about direct sunlight).

Since then, my plants haven't been the same.

A few days later, they showed signs of drooping and the leaves turning a pale yellowish color.

Throught their life, there has been a white/gray "fuzz" showing up sporadically on portions of the soil on a few of the plants.

Based on some reading from other posts, I see the following as possible causes of what I am seeing:

1. Overwatering - I had been watering with approx. 2 cups of water over 25 plants once every 2-4 days by pouring a little water on the soil of each plant.

2. Whiteflies - i think I read that the plants shouldn't be outside until they are strong enough. By putting them outside in the first 3-4 weeks of their life, did I expose them to Whiteflies (or some other pest/disease)?

3. Direct Sun - Did i expose them to too much direct sunlight to early? All directions I see for planting suggest tomatos crave well lit areas for growing. Does well-lit mean enough natural light, but not direct sunlight?

4. Normal Growth - I read on one post that normal growth will result in the first two leaves to appear to wilt and crumble. Is that what I am seeing?

5. The White Fuzz - I havent seen anything about this on any posts. ...But I suspect this isn't good.

Comments (26)

• brianpmccullough
    Original Author