SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
wonderpets_gw

what will you NOT plant this year?

wonderpets
15 years ago

I love the lists of what y'all are planting. They sound soooo interesting.

But, I'm new at this. What would you avoid and why? I know that there are gardenwebbers that avoid anything Monsanto has touched, for example.

I guess I'm asking for those tomatoes that just weren't worth the time or space.

Gena

Comments (59)

• seedboy
    15 years ago

Yes, Purple Calabash is one Jezebel of a tomato. Pretty but astringent. Another truly disgusting waste of garden space. She's sort of like a really pretty transvestite: you get excited by the looks but when it's go time, you're in for a not so tasty treat.

• rocklandguyZ8,SC
    15 years ago

Here is my list of seeds that I'm not planting this year because 2008 was its second try and others have pleased me more:
    Delicious - Not productive
    Early Girl - Not early and not productive
    Rutgers - Not productive
    Ramapo - Not productive
    Silver Fir Tree - Very early, mushy, and finished early
    Riesentraube - Good, but I liked Sweet 100 better
    Mortgage Lifter - Late and mushy, many rotted on plant

I want to find a few Sungold seeds to try, since everyone raves about them being better than Sweet 100, but am not going to pay Burpee $4.95 + 6.95 S&H just to try a few seeds.

Other seeds that I stopped growing from 2006 & 2007 are Soldacki Polish Red, Campbells 1327, Rose Quartz Multiflora, Siberian Russian, Box Car Willie, Roma, Giant Yellow Belgium, Ultimate Opener, Whopper, Sweet Million, Champion, Early Harvest, Wisconsin 55, Hardrock, & Voyage. It just seemed that I had too many types and the "weakest links" just had to go. Doesn't necessarily mean they are bad, could have been weather conditions, crowding, etc. This season I will have 15 other varieties that have earned a spot in my garden. I call them my "best of the best" list. Paul

• Related Discussions