SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
javierlw

Snake Plant has a weird shoot, is this a flower

JavierLW
9 years ago

I have had this snake plant for a month now and I am new to gardening. I watered it when I first got it, but I have never watered it since.

I have one of those Rapitest meters and it still says the moisture is from 4.5 to 7 even though the top of the soil looks extremely dry. Are these meters accurate for this, according to the chart I shouldn't water it until the meter reads 1.0.

Anyway today after much neglect (little sun, no water, no fertilizer), I noticed this little shoot come up. The plant seems healthy otherwise although the leaves could be greener possibly.

Does anyone have experience to know if this is a flower, it seems to be part of a round stem so it seems like it cant be another leaf unless it's several of them in one mass.

Thanks,

Scott

Comments (21)

• JavierLW
    Original Author
    9 years ago

This is what the whole plant looks like. Sorry that it's sideways.

• Stush2049 Pitts. PA, zone 6
    9 years ago

That's what we call a root rhizome becoming a new stock. It will have lots of leaves in it also. Your plant is a Sansevieria trifasciata Laurentii.
    Stush

• Related Discussions

Snake plant flowering

Q

Comments (4)