SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
scottokla

Poor man's tomato variety report

scottokla
15 years ago

This is my brief report on the limited number of varieties I tried this year. Maybe there will be something useful in here for some of you, even after reading Dawn's reports. I am not a tomato expert, but here goes anyway.

These I started in early Feb and had in the ground as large plants by early April, although they didn't grow much more until May:

Early Girl - maybe I should call it "Early and Often Girl"; I have 6 plants and they all started ripening the second week of June; they are still setting fruit and I have harvested about 10 per plant thus far; not much taste.

Celebrity - Good production, good size, good plants; they are bigger than usual this year and are still producing heavily; about 6 good ones per plant thus far starting mid-June; taste is average.

Better Boy - Fair production, very good size and not many blemishes; I'm happy with them this year; about 4 per plant thus far starting in mid to late June; I have only eaten one fresh and it was average taste;

Brandy Boy Hybrid - Good production, excellent size of about 1 lb each but with unusual shapes and some blemishes; I'm very pleased with this one; about 4 per plant thus far with a couple more left on each plant; they started ripening in mid to late June; above average taste.

Brandywine Red (from American Seed - Plantation Products cheap packets from Atwoods) - Fair production, various sizes; started ripening in early to mid June, but they are not impressive; somewhat firm and only average taste - not worth growing.

These I started in late Feb and had in the ground as large plants by late April, although they didn't grow much more until May:

Brandywine Pink (from American Seed - Plantation Products cheap packets from Atwoods) - only a couple thus far and only a few more now setting; not enough data.