SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lakedallasmary

How should I heal some barren hard clay soil?

lakedallasmary
18 years ago

I am having some 12 foot tall photinia bushes cut down because, I do not this is an attractive plant. We as also trying open up the back yard. There is a dog run in our yard about a 20 X 45ish area. The bushes are there to block the chain link fence. This whole set up was here when we moved in. The chain link fence is coming down too. It is being free cycled.

Anyway, due to the shade, these tall bushes created soil that is barren of life. It is dry hard clay. I live in noth central texas. A little further away from the hard clay is some short weeds then a typical wooden privacy fence. The soil is also doing poorly since I kept stealing leaves from under the bushes for mulch since I knew the bushes where coming down and the bushes would not need them anymore. I forgot about the soil. I am new to all this. Plus, I had no other source of mulch as it was winter and the garden beds needed some mulch. Sometimes I walk down to the park and gather some oak leaves, but these break down so slow, soI don't do that much now.

Here is the question part.

I was first thinking to plant some native grass there, and in the fall some easy to grow wild flowers. I have started to read gaias garden, and he talked about pioneer plants, got me to thinking. But not sure what plants are pioneer and native. I do not want to disturb the soil and I would prefer to plant native seeds. But due to the hard soil do you think the soil would need a bit of raking to loosen things up, or would that do more harm thatn good? I am at a bit of a loss on how to proceed.

I like purple three awn grass after I saw it growing in a field on a walk. I was told bermuda graa will take over buffaloo grass, so I guess that is out. I was thinking sunflowers would grow there where not much else would.