SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
backyardmomma

Too late to plant grean beans? Pea health?

backyardmomma
15 years ago

Ok question #1- I've been really sick lately ( fun pregnancy stuff) and haven't gotten around to planting my green beans (I was going to do both pole and bush). I live in the OKC area- is it too late to plant them or should I hold off and plant them for a fall crop?

Question #2- I grew snap/sugar peas this spring and they had a slow time germinating and finally gave me peas this month. I probably didn't keep them mulched as much as I should have but they did stay watered. This past week they have almost over night turned dry/crunchy leaves and yellow. It has been warm so I am wondering if this is just natural for peas to play out then dry out? I know they are a cool season plant but was just wondering if this is how they kick the bucket in Oklahoma. This is my first year growing them for spring so I was just checking and making sure. I did have a lot of aphids this year. Lots of Lady bugs but still lots of aphids. I grew the peas organic.

Thanks again everyone for your wealth of garden wisdom!

Comments (9)

• Macmex
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Well, my guess is that your peas may have contracted something from the aphids. I planted my Sugaree Snap peas in January and they are only now, just beginning to bear, here in Tahlequah. But, if you've been picking peas for a couple of weeks and they dry down, and it's been hot there, then it's possible that they just petered out.

Can't imagine that it'd be too late to plant beans, either bush or pole. Go for it!

George

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    15 years ago

I think the heat probably got your peas. When I grow them (and most years I don't), I always lose mine to the heat in May.