SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
emerogork2

How NOT to grow Hosta.....

emerogork
9 years ago

I have a long retaining wall that faces North East and is about 10' from the road and about 2' tall. I decided to line it with Hosta. It looked great but during the hot summer it wilted in the full sunlight.

I ran a soaker hose along the wall and it looked great again.

Come the next year, it grew as expected but again looked ragged even though I was watering it.

I ended up digging it all up and giving away about 50 well developed plants because I was just not going to fight the buffet I had set up for thousands of slugs....

A nice cool wall, lots of shade, and water.
A perfect storm...

I changed over to orange mums...

Comments (55)

• mikgag Z5b NS Canada
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I'm a beginner !

I'm glad it worked for you

• smorz
    9 years ago

you may be alone here, in your conclusion... but whatever makes you happy. And I do agree, that is not how I would grow hostas, or anything else for that matter.

"I'm glad it worked for you"

• Related Discussions

How do my hosta 'Northern Exposure' can't growing?

Q

Comments (1)
    Well, hard to say how long it will take the 4th leaf to push out, Frank. I say give it some time. Our weathers has been rather cool, and I think as temperatures warm up, and we get a bit more sunshine, you should see more growth. Keep the snails away from your hostas, they are huge snail magnets! Patty S.
    ...See More

southern limits/fragrant hostas

Q

Comments (10)