SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
wmkolker

who likes who ?

wmkolker
16 years ago

Ok got seed tapes done today . But what do I plant next to what ? I have heard I don't remember where that carrots like tomatoes. Is there some order to planting ? I also read that marigolds will deter some bugs .

I am sorry for posting so many times . If someone could direct me to a book I won't be such a pain . I am new at this . I am trying to learn .

Thank you

Wendy

Comments (17)

• mulberryknob
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Carrots Love Tomatoes is the name of a book, by Louise Riotte, by (Ithink) Rodale Press about 30 or more years ago. It's the classic companion-planting book.

What I think is just as important is pH preferences. Both Carrots and tomatoes do best in a limed soil (we use a scattering of woodashes.) But both potatoes and radishes like soil a bit more acid so I plant my radishes as a first crop in the middle of my potato bed. Some other things that like lime are sugar snap peas, green beans, and cucs. Happy gardening

• Okiedawn OK Zone 7
    16 years ago

Wendy,

NEVER apologize for posting often and asking lots of questions....that is the very reason this forum exists!

Books are great, but there is nothing quite like getting info from people who are gardening in the same state! Many garden books are VERY general because they are written to appeal to a broad national audience. So, ask away, and we will answer!

I second Dorothy's recommendation of CARROTS LOVE TOMATOES as well as any/every other book ever written by the late, great southern Oklahoma gardener, Louise Riotte. It is a great book. It was published in the 70s when I was still in high school and I didn't discover it until the early 80s, and I adore this book. I am on my third copy....having worn out the first two! Another wonderful book on companion planting is GREAT GARDEN COMPANIONS by Sally Cunningham. It is one of the most helpful books I've ever read.