SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
bettylu_zone6a

Vole or mole damage and an idea to protect the hosta

bettylu_zone6a
11 years ago

I have a very narrow bed on the north side of my house next to my garage (20"Wx22'L) that I have discovered entrances to tunnels - some right in the middle of the hosta plant! There are no mounds or raised tunnels, all of the openings go straight into the ground - so maybe they are all voles?

The poor Hadspen Blue had almost all of the roots on one side eaten away - and it is barely hanging on.

I am planning on picking up some bait pellets (which I have never used before), but I had an idea to protect this entire narrow bed and wondered what you all think....

If I were to pick up hardware cloth or screening and form it into a long rectangular shape and bury it along side the garage and then use separate piece(s)to lay on top, how do-able do you think this is? If you think it would work, how deep should I bury the hardware cloth/screening to give the roots room to grow? I often use this area for my new purchases to give them time to grow to size before putting out into the garden - so the plants are fairly small.

Or do you think I should just put poison in the holes and forget about the screening?

BettyLu

Comments (15)

• ci_lantro
    11 years ago

The hardware cloth idea would certainly help but, in your situation, I'd give the Repellex tablets a try.

It's going to be a lot of work to dig all that out & install the hdwe. cloth, plus the expense. Repellex isn't cheap but it's easy. I've not used it so can't testify to the effectiveness.

In the meantime, get some ordinary mousetraps and bait them with peanut butter...interspersed among the plants in the bed. That way you'll know when you've eliminated some of the problem!

Here is a link that might be useful: Repellex

• Jon 6a SE MA
    11 years ago

or-

"The Recipe For Organic Vole & Mouse Control
    Large Area Applications Using A Hose-End Sprayer

1 - 2 Oz Castor Oil