SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
ralgam

N.E. Flower Show

ralgam
17 years ago

I'm planning on going the last day, Sunday, Mar. 25th. Will many of the booths be packing up by then? I noticed that there are no demonstrations planned for that day. Is it worth going on the last day, or should I try to change to another day?

Comments (34)

• richdelmo
    17 years ago

Going on the last day of a 9 day show (actually 10 as the show is privately opened today)has some advantages such as crowd size and last minute bargains. I don't enjoy crowds but always go on the first day or two mostly because the live displays are at their best, by the end of the week they are just as beautiful but are starting to lose their vigor and show signs of wilt. The admission is not inexpensive so choose whatever pleases you most so you get the most out of your time.

• Cady
    17 years ago

I like going mid-week when flower arrangements are still fresh.

This year, I'm studying floral design at North Shore Community College (through Essex Agriculture and Technical Institute), and one of their courses does a display at the show. Although I'm not in that particular course, I got to help out with the installation, and it was so much fun.

Seeing the various top-rated designers hauling in their mega-budget exhibits, piece by piece, and putting them together in just a couple of days was amazing, and we got to meet some of the big names. In fact, our modest-budgeted little exhibit got assigned a space right next to the biggest, fanciest one (by Paul Misovsky and David Haskell, disciple of and son of (respectively) the great designer/nurseryman Allan Haskell who passed away a few years ago. They plopped their equipment and table right on top of our workspace! But, they also let us use their tools and eat their plentiful pizza.