What's wrong with liriope?

IreneW(z7 MD)

Following up on the post about native alternatives to liriope.....I was wondering what is wrong with liriope? I gather from the context, that it is not native, but is it also invasive? It is the only thing that I can get to grow in a small flower bed near where my kids play basketball....so, that's why I was wondering what might be bad about it? I am a rookie here with an interest in native gardens, trying hard to do the "right" things!

SaveComment14Like
Comments (14)
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
taylmat_OK(z6B Tulsa)

I grow natives and non-natives as well. As long as the exotics are well-behaved and you enjoy them, there is no reason you shouldn't grow them. I think the author of that post was just looking for a native alternative. I guess it all depends on what you want for your landscape.

No one's going to make me give up my sedums and shasta daisies!

Save    
Elaine_NJ6

Many of us simply prefer to grow only native plants.

Save    
plantfreak(z9aKyushuJapan)

Which is funny, because it IS native where I live, and yes, I do grow it! You should see all the damn North American weeds over here! PF

Save    
croakie_SC(SC Zone 8)

And yes, depending on where you live liriope IS invasive.

Save    
shelley_r(7b NC)

It's on the watch list for SC. Watch: Exotic plant species that are considered to be a potential threat to natural plant communities.

Here is a link that might be useful: SC Exotic Pest Plant Council Non-Native Invasive Plant Species List ­

Save    
Treedoc66(6b)

Ah, but Fern Scale is newly discovered feeding on Liriope in my area.
There is hope!

Rx

1 Like Save    
taylmat_OK(z6B Tulsa)

Liriope isn't something I grow anymore, but at a previous home it was already there. I found it to be a very slow spreader and the seed it produced didn't germinate well. That doesn't mean it isn't a problem everywhere, but in my experience it wasn't.