SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
hoke_gw

Advice Needed

hoke
20 years ago

Hi Folks.

I do need advice, lots and lots of it! I need so much that I have no idea what I should be asking yet, so this is mostly just an introduction. I expect to be using this forum a lot in the near future; you all sound like nice people.

My name is Hoke. I live in a semi-rural part of San Diego county. I'm a computer geek by trade, but thanks to my employer jumping on the "outsourcing" bandwagon, I've been laid off. And I believe I've finally decided that the corporate world of 8-to-5 business casual expendable cog-in-the-wheel drudgery is not where I want to spend 5 out of every 7 days of my life. (I hope I don't sound bitter, because, honestly, I'm past that...I think ;-))

Since my avid hobby has for years revolved around growing and propagating plants - houseplants mostly, but also landscape type plants and trees - I'm going to try making a living doing that. But I'm truly starting from scratch. I have no experience running a business. I have a few things going for me: I'm friendly, I like most people, I have lots of energy and don't mind working hard, and I have about 3/4 of an acre of land to play with and a few months' padding finance-wise. And I am determined to make this work, if at all possible.

But O there are SO many questions! What should I grow? Should I sell wholesale or retail? Should I grow a variety or huge batches of one thing? Is there a market here the "little guy" can break into? How big a greenhouse should I build? What should I make it out of? Do the big chain stores buy from small growers? Can I make enough to pay the mortgage and bills? Or do I need a part time job? Once my growing operation is ready to start, how long should I expect to lose money before turning a profit?