SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
jrslick

Growing in a high tunnel

I have been growing vegetables for Farmers Market for 3 years now. Over the last year I have become very interested in High Tunnels or hoop buildings. I am going to build two tunnels this year. One is going to house tomatos and the other cucumbers. From my reading, these are two of the most profitable crops to grow in a high tunnel outside of flowers. My question is who has done this and is there any advice for a novice with lots of growing experience? When can I start planting out? Our last FF day is usually the end of April. I will be building these building next week, during my spring break (I am a teacher for a full time job).

My two hoop buildings are going to be 12 by 16 and 8 by 12 or 16. My wife thinks I am crazy and I want to prove her wrong! I know that this is going to work, but any help will be appreciated.

Comments (26)

• toughboy
    16 years ago

The tomatoes may or may not be profitable depending on your heating cost . Cucumbers are likely to not be profitable . Around here 95 percent is tomatoes with only a few cukes

• jrslick (North Central Kansas, Zone 5B)
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Toughboy- I am not planning on heating these structures. I am just trying to get started 2-4 weeks earlier. I do have a source of heat, if during that time it gets too cold.

I have read that it is possible to do this. The only real expense I have is the plastic and my time. I have been able to round up the supplies, for free, or I have left over supplies to build them.