SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
ruthieg__tx

Let's talk Rattlesnake Beans

ruthieg__tx
14 years ago

I read somewhere in the last week or so where someone said they were not impressed with the taste of Rattlesnake. I planted them last year and thought they were beyond good and they produced like crazy. But after reading the comment (sorry I can't remember who said it) I have been thinking a lot about the taste factor of beans. Do you think that the growing conditions, weather, soil, amount of fertilizer all have to be factored in to the taste of beans or any veggie. I mean we all look for recommendations for the number one tasting bean and maybe it really is different for each of us even if our tastes were the same. Am I making any sense?

Comments (37)

• trsinc
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

You are making sense to me. And, while I'm no bean expert, I have noticed extreme differences in flavor with herbs - depending on what soil they are growing in, how much rain, etc. Not only have I noticed the difference from place to place where I've lived, but also where I live now. The herbs in pots never taste as good as the herbs in the ground. So, I would think it would definitely have an effect on veggies. I've also grown the same variety of tomato as my local organic farm and theirs taste much better. Hrrmph! :-(

As for flowers, it seems to be the same as well. I have a few things that came as starts from friends. In my yard, some of them are completely different colors than they were at my friends houses. For example, instead of a medium bright pink, it might be pale Lavender instead.

So, yes, I think the trick is to find a variety that does well and tastes good for you. It could be a completely different ball game down the road a ways, lol.

• fusion_power
    14 years ago

Ruthie, I am not impressed with the flavor of Rattlesnake. I like the flavor of Kentucky Wonder, Tobacco Worm, Blue Marbutt, and Fortex.