SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
mthorebgarden

Really tall oldies?

mthorebgarden
16 years ago

I was tinkering on Tinkers today (pun intended) and many of you have probably already noticed, but there are several very tall daylilies listed from 50+ years back. Many of these are listed to by hybridized by Hamblin.

Now I am relatively new to daylilies so pardon my ignorance if this is really common, obvious information. Have any of you ever seen any of these? Is this information accurate? I know there are some relatively 'new' tall daylilies, but was surprised to see an 8 footer from the 50s. Do you know if any of these are still around? Example (there are many more):

Highlight DIP

HAMBLIN

Year:1951

Height:8' 0''

Diameter:

Season:Late

Fragrance:

Scape:

Fertility:

Color/Descript:YL1

Parentage:(ALTISSIMA X HYPERION)

Thanks! Jodi

Comments (41)

• berrytea4me
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Cool!

I'm pretty new to DL myself. Murphy's 2007 intro (Eli Murphy) was the first really tall DL that I had heard of. How exciting to know there are others out there- and my favorite--vintage!

What's the cultivar name?

Have you found it in the AHS online database? That is the best source for validating the information.

Have you looked for it at Valley of the Daylilies? He's got one of the best selections of oldies around. I did see one 60" named Joy Russell (Russell '42) on his price list.

Here is a link that might be useful: Valley of the Daylilies

• bambi_too
    16 years ago

I have looked for Hamblins plants and have not been able to find any. They all had H. altissima in them. There are 3 that are available CHALLENGER, STATUESQUE, and AUTUMN MINARET (often sold as H. altissima). I have all 3 and they have all hit over 5 feet tall here, but next year I expect they wil all really preform since it will be the 3rd year for all of them here.