SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
katzgirl

Barn Building Advice Needed

katzgirl
16 years ago

Hi everyone. Thanks for taking an interest in my topic. I'm new here so I thought I'd share a little about myself before jumping in and pleading for help.

I'm basically a farmer at heart and not a computer technologist. If I screw up, please be patient. Laugh with me...not at me.

My name is Kat. For years, I ran a little farm with goats, sheep and chickens. However, we did have the odd pig and calf come visit for a while before they took up permanent residence in the "refrigerated barn".

I was well known for providing farm goods in my community. My customers often referred to as the egg or goat lady; depending on which product they bought or bartered for from me.

As a single mother of 3, I ran my farm as a way to put food on the table and subsidize my tiny monthly income. We enjoyed the benefits but nothing compared to our lifestyle on a farm.

A little over two years ago, a disastrous, brief relationship ended and I was left nearly penniless. I bartered/negotiated to hang on and nearly lost the farm a couple of times. While I managed to keep our home, the same could not be said for our lifestyle.

In the aftermath, I had only enough money for family groceries or livestock feed. I had to make the most difficult decision of my life and it meant giving up the essence of our lifestyle.

I arranged to ship our beloved dairy goat herd, sheep and flock of chickens to an animal rescue league. I will never forget those first few hours after they were all gone. The deafening silence on our farm made the atmosphere "heavy" with grief.