SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
bonsaist

All my in ground trees are gone

bonsaist
15 years ago

I'm writing this with complete sadness. I unwrapped one of my trees to discover that it was all eaten by field mice. Then I went to the other wrapped trees and I uncovered them, to my disappointment they were all chewed up by field mice.

I lost 5 very large trees. That's what's left of them.

Brooklyn White

close up

Dark Portuguese

yes there was a large fig tree here

I've been growing figs for 9 years. I've never had this problem. I had a cat that was in control, but I had to give my cat away since my wife became pregnant. When the cat is away the mice will play.

Bass

Comments (51)

• dieseler
    15 years ago

Thats terrible oh gosh by looking at those pictures .
    Look i cant send you cuttings as my tree's are cut up good from past fall but i will be happy this fall to send what i can to you to get started again maybe sooner.
    When we first had home built 20 years back i planted many regular tree's and next spring they were all gone they were small tree's but in my case it was rabbits as i saw several doing this one day and set the dog out in yard after em. I found small type indentations that year in yard as they were starting to make there families they were covering those up with grey fur or hair.

Im sorry you lost yours and will try to help.
    Martin

• peg919
    15 years ago

Bonsaist,
    Oh, what a shame! That is heart breaking to loose such big trees. Years of work gone. So sorry for you. Any chance of getting another cat?

Peg

• Related Discussions

All my fruit gone :(

Q

Comments (13)