SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
dablaw

Creating A Homestead Daylily 101

dablaw
15 years ago

Just thought some of you might appreciate this article I wrote for the Spring Daylily Appeal Region 10 magazine..It was such a long article they had to publish it in two parts..You all will get the whole article here all at once..I'm not a professional writer so please remember that..I just thought with all of the negative comment of late on this forum that I would enlighten you all as to how I do things and how I got to where I am in my life and with daylilies...Enjoy..

Creating a "Homestead" daylily 101

By David Burris, Murray, Ky.

Hello from western Kentucky. My name is David Burris, and along with my wife, Laura we grow and hybridize daylilies in the lakes region just west of Murray, Ky. Brian Mahieu of Missouri also has his hybridizing program here with us as well.

As Im sitting here pondering my notes on what I wanted to write about, I realized that there needed to be a way to welcome new daylily people with some basic info on daylilies. To help them be more comfortable with their new found passion.

I also wanted to share some ideas and thoughts that would perhaps give some insight to people that were more experienced as well. So my solution was to address both sides of my thoughts but focusing mainly on the basics. I have never considered myself a writer so to speak, so please donÂt be too judgmental if my thoughts wander from time to time. Also I would like to add that any tips, tricks, or methods I speak of in this writing are only from my experiences and what has worked for me.

I hope you enjoy my thoughts and hope after reading this that you can come away with a few new ways to look at things, or a few techniques to make life a little easier.

"Once Bitten"

Let me first warn all you "newbieÂs" out there. Once you have been "bitten" by the daylily bug, your fate will be sealed.