SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
shropshire_lad_gw

How did you design your garden beds?

shropshire_lad
15 years ago

I am new to gardening and have a lot of seeds that I would like to grow for this summer. However, I don't yet have any garden beds in place. I want everything to look good, but I am not sure how to plan the size and number of beds, or how to go about arranging the plants when I can't even see them yet. How did you all go about designing your garden beds?

Comments (24)

• token28001
    15 years ago

Trial and error. At my last place, I moved things all the time. I don't expect it to be any different here. I plant things according to sun and moisture needs, then by height, color, and winter interest. You have to keep all that in mind especially when working with seedlings.

I've already put in some of the foundations here. A few shrubs, some bulbs, some built items. I've also laid out some typical perennials so that they will be focal points. I'm using repeating plants to provide continuity. Where I planted Shastas, I also have rudbeckia, and a hibiscus. Three groupings of those to hold the bed together. The rest of my plants will be scattered between those areas based on color and size. I tossed in some buddelia for a different effect. Bare spots will be filled in with annuals this year until all the perennials bloom.

For the layout of the beds themselves, I let the fall of the land dictate that. I'm fortunate to have levels in the yard and not a flat rectangle of space. I'm using existing trees to hold the perimeter and will line those with flowering or scented evergreen and deciduous shrubs. The size is based on what I think I can handle without walking on too much of the soil. That causes compacting which will affect root development. About 4' across is the widest bed I have so far. That's stretching my reach.