SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
artichuck

I just purchased some Papaya seeds and need a little help

artichuck
19 years ago

My plan is to purchase some 10 gallon pots, fill them with Potting soil and place them near a SW facing window. Then I am going to place a well soaked seed in the middle of the pot about .5" in the dirt and see what happens? I do have some questions and invite any and all comments that might help my quest for fruit.

1) Do I have to stake Papaya trees and should I do this at planting time?

2) Can I start the seeds on my warm counter with all of my tomatoes and peppers and transplant later?

3) Would a 20 gallon pot be better, I think the weight of the thing would be a bit of a hinderence?

Thanks,

Chuck in west denver

Comments (22)

• bencelest
    19 years ago

OK, I am not a papaya expert but at this time I am growing a papaya tree which is overall I think it is a success. So far.
    To answer your question:
    1. No you don't have to stake your papaya as long as the trunk is growing straight up. But in the case like mine it appears it is leaning towards the sunlight so I have to stake it to keep it straight.
    2. If possible separate it from other plants because it grows very fast so the roots will intertwine with the other crops roots you have. Make sure that you water your papaya with lukewarm water all the time. Do not add any nutrients or fertilizer at this time. Get a soil thermometer. The soil must be at least 78 degrees. Wrap a Christmas tree lights around the pot if you have to to raise the tempt.
    Do not use artificial lights. Mine created round holes on much of the leaves perhaps because I put the light too close. So I am playing it safe now. No lights at night.