SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
michael_in_pa

Questions from another beginner

michael_in_pa
16 years ago

Hi Everyone,

I have some questions for those of you who are "seasoned veterans" growing brugmansias. I am new to gardening let alone these beautiful angelÂs trumpets. I purchased what I believe is a basic white (cultivar unknown I guess) from mail order and itÂs thriving quite nicely. It arrived in mid to late July I believe and was about a 12" cutting at the time. ItÂs now only about 16" tall but growing leaves nicely. Living in western PA (zone 5) I have chosen to grow my brug in a potÂmy first blunder I realize was planting it in a pot that is probably too large. I started it out in a small 6"-8" container that I simply planted within the larger 12"-16" and removed the small container when I began to see roots protruding.

Anyway, my concerns are that although itÂs branching it is not getting very tallÂperhaps itÂs putting all itÂs energy into the two branches off the main trunk. I am going to try to attach photos of the young plant and was wondering if IÂm wrong to assume that it has started the "Y" that many talk about. IÂm thinking perhaps these are just lateral side branches? I also noticed leaves on this "Y" that have the uneven appearance that is visible as the plant begins to bud. As September approaches, I want to make sure IÂm prepared to winter my brugmansia indoors and I have soooo many questions in relation to pruning, and how to overwinter indoors. Is Miracle Gro plant food not recommended for a plant with such young, tender roots? Can you please give me some pointers?