SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
andrew_scott77

Newbie Brugs grower here.

Andrew Scott
13 years ago

I just started growing brugs this spring and am hoping that someone can give me some help. I had a friend from Vancouver send me cuttings of 'Frosty Pink, and an unk. yellow. They were about 8 inches long and I rooted them in a glass of water. Within a month, I had them planted in pots. I have now transplanted two of the three times and am thinking of planting all three of them into the ground. I realize it is late in the summer but I am not sure what else to do. I have been feeding them with a 9-3-6 fertilizer. At first, I was feeding them at every watering but I have slowed down and feed maybe once a week. Now as I said above, I am new to growing these beautfull tropical bushes but I did read that cuttings that were taken with a "Y", would bloom sooner. Is that true? @ of the three were taken with the "Y". I also read that Dave had said that he puts his into the ground. I was thinking that is what I would do. I am trying to change my front bed from an herb garden with a reblooming Iris border in the back to a Tropicalesque garden. This year I bought a musa 'basjoo' and I was planning on dividing it next year so I can plant 2 more clumps of them. I want to space them far enough apart where I can put my brugs in between the bananas and also I want to sink some of my potted plumerias.