SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
valentinetbear

Bugs on my Milkweed?

valentinetbear
14 years ago

A little background, on who I am, before I ask the questions. I am not a butterfly expert and haven't even gone as far as making a butterfly house yet. I don't want to raise them, just give some a small oasis as they fly by. I do like seeing them in my garden, and have been slowly working towards growing flowers and plants they like, as well as maintaining a drinking hole for them. Living in the city with a very small (16 X 16 foot) cement yard, I'm growing the plants in containers. I think I have the three plants needed for a happy monarch - milkweed (the common weed variety - sorry, didn't even know there were more types than two milkweeds, until I perused the FAQ section), parsley, and a butterfly bush. Now, the question -

Got a herd of small orange things towards the tops of many of the stalks of milkweed. I'm pretty sure they're aphids, but not even positive about that. Whatever they are, they stay there, even through the cold. Ended up soaking a dead branch of my clematis from last year in a jar of water, and they are still on it. (Put it in that water in March, too.) Soooo, any clues what I have growing on the milkweed? And, still guessing bugs - harmful, beneficial, or benign? If harmful, what do I do, assuming "no pesticides," since I'm trying to attract butterflies.