SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
almatt_gw

How do Monarchs find Milkweed?

almatt
14 years ago

I'm a newbie to butterfly gardening, but I was curious about how monarchs are able to find milkweed, especially where none grew in previous years. I couldn't find the answer elsewhere on this forum.

I'm in Maryland, and would like to attract more butterflies to my garden by planting milk weed.

Others questions: how many plants does one need? Is it enough to plant 3 or 4 milkweed plants? Also, I have a few buddleia growing already. How far can the milkweed be from the buddleia for the monarchs to use the buddleia for nectar?

Am I even asking the right questions?

Comments (24)

• fighting8r
    14 years ago

Like a shark to blood. Plant milkweeds and they will come. You will find lots of resources through the gardenweb site, but a good place to start is the butterflies and moths site below. You can choose your location on the map to find out what species are around and what they use as host/larval plants. Hey, why stop at milkweed butterflies?

Here is a link that might be useful: Butterflies by map

• Related Discussions

Plant Milkweed for Monarch Butterflies

Q

Comments (7)
    There is a patch of anise or fennel weed that reseeds every year in the lot behind our house. It seems to attract butterfly habitat, but not sure about milkweed. However, about 5 years ago, we awoke one morning - and going outside, found ourselves in the midst of a huge Monarch migration. What a sight, they just kept on coming, and seemed to be from the ocean. It looked as though they were headed for a huge growth of wild mustard - down in the canyon behind our house. We have lived here over 30 years, and that was the first one we had seen. Fantastic! We see swallowtail, mourning cloaks, a few monarchs every year, but that migration was a once-in-a-lifetime event, I'm afraid. Bejay
    ...See More

Milkweeds n NO Monarchs

Q

Comments (12)