SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
kqcrna

How's your Yvonne's salvia doing?

kqcrna
15 years ago

Mine are about the same size as last year, the tallest about 50 inches. A few are positively puny. Hurricaine Ike blew over some of the plants, and some were so badly damaged by the storm that I'm yanking them.

I did collect some more seeds today. Ike also stole some of my seeds. On many stems the pods were just blown away and I'm left with bare stems. I definitely won't have as many seeds to share as I did last year, so I hope others are saving their seeds.

Anyone else harvesting these seeds?

Karen

Comments (30)

• medontdo
    15 years ago

i am harvesting some seeds, this is my first time with this plant thank you very much!! i got the seeds from you i believe :') mine are about a foot this year. at first i wasn't sure what the heck it was, all my markings got faded. but now, i'm soooooo happy!!! everyone wants those seeds!!! LOL i am happily getting them proper homes!! LOL ~Medo

• terrene
    15 years ago

Mine are about 4 feet tall and blooming prolifically! They are really pretty, so bright and colorful. I saw 2 hummingbirds fighting over the Yvonne's Salvia a couple days ago, just as they were fighting over the Lobelia cardinalis when that was in full bloom, so they must really like them.

I just collected a few seeds this morning from the first few seedheads that have dried up. I don't know how many seeds I'll end up getting, as they don't have too much more time to mature for the season.

{{gwi:366981}}

• Related Discussions

Have: Yvonne's Salvia & Echinacea tennesseensis

Q

Comments (5)
    This offer is now closed. I have sent an email to the 4 people above. Thanks and have a great day. jim
    ...See More

Question about Yvonne's Salvia

Q

Comments (6)