SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
bart_2010

Let's discuss mounding bare-root roses!

bart_2010
10 years ago

Inspired by DrPekeMom's thread,I decided to start another focusing on the concept of mounding newly planted bare-root roses in warmer climates. Here in the foothills of the Appenines in Tuscany, Italy, I guess the climate could be roughly considered as a zone 8,but ,when we're lucky enough to have "normal" weather, autumn tends to be very rainy, even dank, with the short days, etc.So far, temperatures have not yet gone down to zero degrees Celsius,so no freezing, as of yet.
Last week I planted out my first batch of bare-root roses, which I recieved from Stange. The plants look excellent, nice and moist on arrival,but as is usual ,they ARE sprouting a bit of leaf buds This is by no means unusual for me. I've been planting bare-root roses for over ten years now; I think that the plants, heeled in at the nursery, DO tend to continue growing a bit until it gets cold enough to completely shut them down.In fact, in my order just recieved from Lens, two of the plants still have leaves on them! And I have found over the years that the quality of the Lens bare-roots is absolutely excellent.