SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
mmymoon

Best Hedging Roses for Virginia?

mmymoon
15 years ago

Hello... rose newbie here! Well, newbie to the illustrious world of adult gardening (and having the money to blow on it, whee!) as I took care of my family's overgrown bushes, and even managed to grow lots of little cuttings before college killed my spirit and plants, and I took a break from gardening.

I now have my own yard, and am eager to start a proper rose garden. I have a few cheapie Lowes hybrid teas and a whole bunch of bulbs, but house projects kept me from investing enough time/money/energy... but I want to get cracking this spring! Looking at all the pretty catalogues and browsing the online shops is eeeeevil, so I'm hoping you gurus here will have some advice. :D

I'm envisioning a big beautiful rose hedge -- maybe even a "garden room," where I can take my mug of tea out to a bench. The dream, the dream... I have a 5' wire fence (goat fence + T-posts) around my yard area to contain my dogs, so I was thinking I could plant/support them along that. On the other hand, the fence would show through a smaller hedge, if one was truly only 3 feet... might not have that sense of romantic retreat I'm hoping to inspire.

The David Austin book sends one's heart a-fluttering, but I called customer service today, and the representative said most of the ones I'd picked didn't do well in my hot, humid climate. It only freezes to about -25F, but the summers can spike to nearly 100F lately, and it can be humid as all get out.