SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
aimeekitty

photos/state of rose bushes around the yard img hvy

aimeekitty
13 years ago

per yours and my local nursery-lady's advice, This past weekend I put Gro-Power Plus (bottom), Alfalfa Meal (middle) and Chicken Manure (top layer)) and watered that in on all my roses.

I thought, since it's been a while, it might be a good time to post photos of the rose bushes themselves and get a "report card" on the leaves and plants. Like I said in my previous thread, most of these have been in since January, with a few being planted this past June (those were mostly 2 galls from ARE, though)

zone 9-10, SW 18, inland so-cal. heavy clay alkaline soil (amended as planted)

We've had an unusually mild summer (not as hot as normal) but we did have a spike of about 110 for a few days, and then it went back down to the 80s and 90s.

Y'all know that I'm a newbie. This is my first season really having my own garden and my first season with roses, so I don't really know what NORMAL is, and I don't know what normal is for my climate, either.

I'm hoping you can tell me if there's something I need to do, or if "it's fine".

Please forgive the light balance on these photos.

The roses in front of the camellia next to the garage, from left to right, Rita Sammons, Leda Rose, Penelope

{{gwi:312889}}

The same Leda, looking pretty happy to me

{{gwi:312891}}

Felicia, getting partial shade but some afternoon sun. Are these yellow leaves ok? I worry this plant doesn't get enough sun, even though its' listed as shade tolerant. It hasn't grown much since Jan compared to it's sisters.

{{gwi:312892}}

The smaller of my two MACs on the pillars of my front porch. they get afternoon sun only. This one gets less sun, which probably explains why it's smaller, but I think it's still doing ok. Some yellow and brown at the leaf tips??

{{gwi:312893}}