SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
perennialfan273

overwintering wisteria in pots?

perennialfan273
14 years ago

Has anybody ever done this successfully?? I have some wisteria seedling that are a little over a year old. This will be their first year that they aren't spending the winter in a greenhouse. The reason that I haven't planted them in the garden yet is because I'm trying to train them into a tree form. It's just too hard to train them if you don't keep them contained. Anyways, any advice on overwintering these plants would be most appreciated.

Thank You

Comments (22)

• woodyoak zone 5 southern Ont., Canada
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I've never tried overwintering them in pots. But I do have one each of a Chinese and a Japanese wisteria in the ground that I've been training for - 8 years in the Chinese case; 3 years in the Japanese case - as trees/shrubs. Mind you, I'm aiming for a big bushy presence, but a Chinese neighbour has several that she keeps pruned to smaller, neater shapes. Are you aiming for a bonsai sort of thing or something larger? If larger, I'd go for in-ground planting, although it's probably too late for that now.

• arbo_retum
    14 years ago

hey you two, other GWers and myself want to learn from you about this but we can't because you don't list your location! would you add it to your i.d. so we can benefit from your experiences?
    thanks much,
    mindy

• Related Discussions

Wisteria in pots

Q

Comments (0)
    Last year I planted 2 Wisteria plants in 2 seperate 5 ish gallon pots. I put the pots on my deck in the hopes that they would climb up onto the pergola which they did. But just barely. I thought the plants grew well for the season. Do you all think they will grow much more being as they are just in pots? Thanks
    ...See More

Potted Wisteria Breaking free, Question

Q

Comments (1)