SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
claire25_gw

English Roseum in full sun, fairly dry location...help!

claire25
13 years ago

Hi all,

I am a beginner gardener who is somewhat too inclined to experiment, as the following example demonstrates.

A few years ago I ripped out some ugly overgrown boxwoods that were planted around the foundation of my house in a south-facing full sun location. I replaced these with rhododendrons ('English Roseum'), basically to see if I could get them to live. They actually are doing better than you might expect, but I would really appreciate some advice to help improve as much as possible their condition.

Of course they bloom wonderfully on account of all the sun. However, I must be very careful with water in the summer...even with the fairly thick hardwood mulch I have around them they dry out almost immediately in the summer heat. The main problem, though, is that they turn a very sickly shade of green in the late winter; they seem to darken to a more normal shade after I fertilize with Hollytone in the spring. Basically I am unsure whether the color is 100% a nutrition issue, or whether (as seems more likely) sun stress is contributing, too. I haven't tested my soil yet and need to...anyway, its composition is EXTREMELY sandy and probably is deficient in easily-leached out minerals/elements. I also ought to know my soil pH and I don't...Lavender grows very well in the same area, though, and I know it likes an alkaline soil. That's not good for rhodos, I know. :(

My question is, would it help or hinder my rhodos if I started using a richer media as a mulch? I'm thinking composted cow manure, which I have a lot of. Is damage from overfeeding likely with rhodos? I have no experience with aluminum sulfate, but would topdressing with this help with the pH issue that I think is likely?

I also am wondering about using a foliar spray containing iron and/or magnesium to help them green up. Is that a good idea, do you think?