SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
yardvaark

Managing Hedera Helix (English Ivy)

Yardvaark
5 years ago

By and large it is the people who don't have English Ivy on account of their own doing that loathe it. And it is those who intentionally grow it who love it. I am of the latter and starting this thread in the hopes of helping some of the loathers, especially those who live by the lovers (I know there are many!) accept and maybe even come to appreciate this workhorse plant, as I do. Truly, English ivy has many good features, some of which make it the BEST plant to solve many landscape problems. I know of nothing else that grows so well in dry shade, on difficult terrain, with so little attention and can look all the while magnificent. As a landscape architect, I once toyed with the question of, "If one were relegated to a single plant from which to make a landscape ... what plant could they use?" After some pondering I concluded that English would not only be the best plant, it would probably be the ONLY plant that could satisfy this quirky mental exercise.

I've heard it said many times that English ivy (which we can refer to as just, ivy) cannot be managed. But as a person who has grown it in two of their own yards -- in plots of approximately 1/4 acre each-- and managed multi-acre tracts of it (collectively) when I worked as a grounds manager of a large southern university, I know for a fact that it is entirely manageable. One only needs to use tools and techniques that are simple and effective and discard incompetent methods that don't work. Let's not swim against the tide!

For clarification, we are NOT talking about ivy other than Hedera helix .... not Algerian, Boston or any others. I don't want someone thinking that all maintenance methods apply universally to other plants/ivies and claim failure based on that misconception.

Some of ivy's positive attributes are that it:

• is evergreen
  • is relatively low -- 8" on the crawl
  • does not require mowing