SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
nativeplanter_gw

Terrible raised bed soil; where to go from here.

nativeplanter
14 years ago

I have just had the worst vegetable garden season ever, in new raised beds. I'm hoping I can get some feedback on how to improve my soil in time for next year. I'm not an expert with vegetables, but have been gardening for a long time and I used to get 8-foot tall tomatoes in Georgia clay, so I must have been doing something right. Right now, I'm in Hampton, VA, with very different soil and somewhat different weather (zone 7b).

Having bought a house over the winter, I built twelve 4'x8' raised beds out of 2x4s. They are about a foot tall. The reasoning was that the only place I had that would be approprate for a vegetable garden puddled after a rain (it is very, very flat here), and since we live on a corner it would look a little tidier.

I filled them with half topsoil and half compost from our municipal waste center. Stuff looked pretty good; it had some bits of wood in it, but the rest of the compost was so soft and decomposed I figured it would be OK.

I learned later that the topsoil I got was actually a topsoil/compost blend, so the beds really have a lot of compost. ...mmmmmOK....

I then mulched the bed with finely ground mulch from the municipal center. I used to use straw, which worked well, but I didn't think it would be tidy in raised beds (especially at the edges), and I always had problems with squash bugs in it.