SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
tractorcito

Craftsman Garden Tractor 917.251492 wiring nightmare

tractorcito
14 years ago

This is a great forum, lots of great info here.

Ok, so I bought a Craftsman garden tractor used. When I hooked up a battery and tried to start it, it was pretty clear some wires were not connected properly. (It was the smoke that tipped me off). ;-)

After some research I realized it does not have the original ignition switch and I think maybe the previous owner might have tried to rewire it and now it's a mess.

I've downloaded the manual which has a wiring schematic as well as an electrical diagram. My problems are twofold;

1) The schematic refers to things like the 'ignition unit' and 'regulator' etc, but these are not labeled on the diagram so I don't know how to trace the wires to them.

2) As you may have surmised from number 1, I am a weekend warrior mechanic at best.

Has anyone been forced to become a wiring expert on this or a similar tractor? Or maybe do you have some pictures of what it should look like 'under the hood'? Any help/tips would be appreciated. Thank you.

Here is a link that might be useful: Owner's Manual

Comments (42)

• mownie
    14 years ago