SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
walt2002

B&S Vanguard Versus Intek Engine

walt2002
15 years ago

B&S Vanguard verses Intek Enngine

I have done a lot of engine rebuilding but not recently. I am not experienced with the current B&S "V" twins and have been curious when I keep hearing how much better the Vanguard is than the Intex. A friend, who does a lot of mower work, dropped off one of each last week. Ill give my quick, short impressions and go into detail then for ones who are gluttons for punishment.

The Vanguard is a cluttered engine with brackets, covers and fasteners all over it. You need to use a digital camera when disassembling it. It utilizes many of the familiar B&S parts such as fuel pump, regulator, alternator, starter, oil fill tube design, flywheel screen design, etc. Parts are really out of line price wise, $75 for a new piston and rings, about $55 for a connecting rod and $62+ for a gasket set. They area a pain to work on when it comes to serious repair.

The Intek is much more intuitive and much less cluttered when disassembling and re-assembling it. It had the same accessories, fuel pump, etc., as the Vanguard. Unfortunately, new connecting rods are apparently not available for it with out buying the crankshaft and both connecting rods as a set. The camshaft is poorly constructed in my opinion. I could find no indication of a compression release and the B&S Repair Manual makes no reference to a compression release.(?) The air cleaner assÂy left much to be desired and the entire plastic cooling shroud/cowling, were a turn off.