SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
ally99_gw

Newbie...random questions :-)

ally99
13 years ago

Hey everyone. I'm brand new to composting this season. I have a rotating drum composter, and it's working well so far. I have a couple of random questions.

First of all, is it ok to compost the coffee filter w/ the used coffee grounds? I'm assuming so, but wasn't completely sure.

Is it correct that bread products should not be composted?

Lastly, how wet do you keep your compost? I'm not sure how often to water it. The water all leaks out from the bottom of my drum immediately after I water it, so I'm assuming I should probably water pretty often?

When you compost, do you add everything at once? It seems like most of you compost day-by-day, but wouldn't all of the items be at different stages in the composting level if you continuously add new compost? Sorry if that's a silly question.

Thanks all! This forum is a wealth of knowledge for a newbie like me! :) Ally

Comments (10)

• ally99
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Another random question, I seem to have read different answers to the question, Am I supposed to add some soil to my compost? Thanks again! Ally

• patchworkfarm
    13 years ago

You can compost the coffee filters. They break down pretty quickly.

You can compost bread products, just don't advertise it. There is a folk or two on this forum that has a strong aversion to the concept of soggy bread.

I can't answer the water question because I've never used a tumbler. In times of low rainfall, I do add water to my big open piles.

I usually leave the lids off of my Earth Machines to catch rain. If it doesnt rain over the week I hit those with the hose. But I'm not sure how much moisture a tumbler holds, so I don't have a recommendation there.

• brdldystlu
    13 years ago