SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
bsnewbie

B & S 13.5HP, gas in oil...smoking still

bsnewbie
12 years ago

Hi. I have a B & S 13.5HP model 28R707 type 1120-E1 engine on a Yard Machines tractor. I am a parts changing home mechanic, not a small engine expert. First, it wasn't started for more than 6mo., maybe a year or more, stored outside. I put oil and about a quart of gas in it, and then started it and it sputtered and spit black smoke. It ran very rough, I shut it down. Noticed the air cleaner was filthy, cleaned it some, tried to start and the battery was dead. OVERNIGHT the gas drained out of the tank and into the engine. I left the throttle on full by mistake, but I later learned that a stuck carb float can let gas flow too much. AFTER I got a new battery, put some more gas in, I started it and I moved around the driveway for about a minute. It smoked some, but seemed reasonably OK. Then I started down a slight slope... and it began to sputter and smoke profusely. I shut down, restarted without air cleaner and after 30 sec. oil shot up out of the crankcase breather tube at the air cleaner.

I disassembled the float and it was hanging/sticking a bit, when I flicked it up. I cleaned the scaling off the float where the needle valve rests, cleaned the needle, then it seemed to move up and down freely. I drained the oil, which was full of gas for sure. I took off the Breather assy, and it seemed OK, if soaked with gas a bit. Reassembled, put fresh oil in. Started, ran for about 30sec nicely, began to sputter a lot and smoke. Found the oil to be very frothy from residual gas. If I get the gas completely out of the crankcase will I be OK, or might I have rings or valve trouble? The gas no longer drains into engine overnight.

Thank you

Comments (19)

• tomplum
    12 years ago