SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
abfromnj

craftsman or Deere x300

abfromnj
16 years ago

I am relatively new to the tractor scene. I recently bought a house with about an acre and a half to mow with some hills and obstacles. Currently I am looking at a craftsman MTS 5500 or DGS 6500 or the John Deere x300. I was orinally looking at the Deere L135 but have read some negative reviews on them. I am looking for something in the $2000 range but if I know it is going to last I will spend up to $3000. I also will use it for some light hauling and possibly plowing. Can anyone provide some insight. Thanks.

Comments (29)

• steve2ski
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

The Deere's you are looking at are LT's. The Craftsmen are GT's. Is the question Do I want to pay the extra for a LT Deere compared the a GT Craftsman? Or Is the question Will a LT Deere do the same work as a GT Craftsman?
    Or is the question Can I buy more Craftsman for the same money as a Deere?
    Or is the question, Is the green paint worth more than the Black or Red?
    Really, Have you looked (in person) at both, if you have, you should have a more clear question or questions.

• wally2q
    16 years ago

other questions to add to steve2ski's list:

are the "hills" actually mountains, or are they flower-bed-mounds?
    are the obstacles trees, or landscape features?
    how long is your driveway?... is it sloped?

• Related Discussions

New Deere X300

Q

Comments (39)