SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
martys_joy

Planting roses and wild flower seeds

martys_joy
16 years ago

New to the site. HI :)

I planted a Rose Bush today. J&P " Carmel Kisses" Mini Rose. I am new at this. I bought my home last year. Was too late to plant. I "think" Spring has finally arrived where I live. I am finger's crossed. Live in S.E. Michigan. I bought my house from an elderly gal who " loved" to garden. Was her passion to take care of her flowers. "She" I am attempting to live up to. I know she put a lot of love and attention into her flowers. I cleaned out an area she had created in a circle round the light post in the front yard. I know for sure Hostas is planted and tulips are already coming up (within the circle). She was in her 90's when I bought the house. Yard has not been maintained properly in 15 yrs at best, she was too old. Tons of weeds,crab grass you name it, its there. In the circle, I weeded, the soil is very rich and dark. As I dug I found lots of dormant Grubs, slugs and earthworms. I know last summer I had ton's of June bugs flying around the front yard. I planted the Mini Rose bush where it would not interfere with the tulips popping up. I planted "seeds" in the dirt too. "Licorice Mint, Sunset Hyssop "

What to how to - Get rid of the Grubs? and How to keep the Roses Bush Healthy? Its in direct sun area. 6-7 hours at Min. We just broke 59 degree's today - first time this year.