SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
allisaurusrex

Can my Phal be saved?

AllisaurusRex
11 years ago

Hi all.

I'm a newbie to orchids (and houseplants in general). I've had this plant for about 2.5 weeks total. This is my second Phal, the first one I managed to kill. So it had been a couple of years since the last one died and when I saw the great prices at Wal-Mart, I thought I'd give it another go. While I was there I also picked up a ceramic pot and Miracle Gro orchid soil to transplant it since it was just in a disposable pot. After researching these past couple of days, I'm thinking maybe that was my first mistake since the plant was/is in bloom. Also after getting home, I realized that the pot I bought doesn't have a drainage hole. I don't know if I can drill one but I can't afford to buy another pot so I figured I'd just try to make it work.

The plant had just about outgrown the temporary pot. The roots were all tangled up in the shape of the pot and they were too stiff for me to undo them. They were gray-ish in color. I potted the plant like that and have been watering it with 3-4 ice cubes once a week like the tag said.

The plant did great for about a week, and then I noticed that the smallest leaf was looking pretty bad. It was pale and maybe a bit reddish and limp and wrinkled. The rest of the leaves were still green and firm so I left it alone. After a few days, I noticed one of the blooms beginning to droop, at which point I plucked off the dead leaf. It came off very easily. After that the wilted bloom went downhill pretty quickly and then about 2 days ago I noticed the rest of the petals are seeming limp also. It's possible that it's jut time for the flowers to drop but there are still 2 flowers that haven't opened completely. They were completely closed when I bought the plant and had been opening up until I noticed the dead leaf.