SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
bencjedi

Planted my first apple and cherry trees on Labor Day

bencjedi
16 years ago

Hello! I am new to growing my own fruit trees. Meijer is clearing out trees, scrubs and roses for 50% off, so I couldn't pass up a deal yesterday (and today). I bought a Fuji apple tree on dwarf stock and a Montmorency cherry tree on Labor Day. I immediately spent over 2 and a half hours digging through my rock-hard clay soil (may as well be concrete) for both holes. I dug 3 root balls deep and wide, figuring the trees would need extra help getting their roots anchored. I mixed in a shrub/tree mix that contains some fertilizer with the local soil. I think the roots will more easily 'take' to this softer area than the native compacted, hard, crusty soil. I also put down some mulch and let the sprinkler soak the whole area for at least an hour after planting these 2 trees.

I realized today the apple tree might not ever bear fruit because I was reading I needed a companion tree of a different apple variety that would bloom at the same time. So.. after work I went back to Meijer and picked up their last Mcintosh apple tree (my favorite apple). I hope my information I found online is correct and that this tree will help cross pollinate with the Fuji (and vice-versa). My yard is small, so I only have around 7-8' between these 3 trees (well not the Mcintosh.. I am soo beat down from the digging the day before, I have this blister on my hand and can't possibly use my shovel in the same way to pry out more evil rocks and super dry clay to bore a new hole for this tree). I dug deep enough that the ground started to hold moisture and I could nearly sculpt pottery with it, so I hope that is deep enough. I basically dug past the worst *detectable* compaction of limestone layer in my ground.

Look what maneuvering the shovel did to my right hand:

{{gwi:123669}}