SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
aliceinvirginia

stupid vegetables don't yield squat.

aliceinvirginia
15 years ago

This is my first attempt at vegetable gardening. I finally managed to find an apartment with a southern exposure and a decent balcony.

I have slaved over container plants, dragging water out there multiple times a day. The weather got strange, the upstairs balcony dropped excess rain in and I got massive blossom end rot. And yellowing branches.

The silly clay water worms don't work.

I dropped back to watering every other day. The eggplant looked sickly, so for about a week I didn't water it at all. Decided to give it a little water/fertilizer, and it is perking up a little. It had blossoms several weeks ago as the two eggplants were forming. But they all fell off. One blossom appeared a couple days ago, fell off, and I noticed another today.

So I decided to try cooking the storebought eggplant. It had gotten mold, so I tried harvesting my two Ichiban eggplants. Both are full of seeds and had extremely tough skin. :-( So back to grocery store overgrown eggplants.

The roma tomato has 75-90% blossom end rot. I've had two good ones, plus two nice looking ripe ones that turned out to be bad. Looking at the one red one and wondering if the rest of green ones will work out. Yanking them out as one after another get blossom end rot. And the bottom half of the plant has been trimmed off as branch after branch gets sickly, yellowing leaves.

The tomatoes in the self-watering containers work a little better. However, the window box water level doesn't work great, and the large one arrived with a broken tube. So no water level there. The yellow leaves are there, just not as bad. I'm judging the water level by looking at how close the reflection is when I pull the fill tube out. And also if the surface gets dry.