SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
puglvr1

Lipstick Plant Questions

puglvr1
16 years ago

Hi,

I have two lipstick plants and one Hoya that I recently purchased.This is my first experience with these plants ever. One is "Mona Lisa" and the other "Black Pagoda", I'm a total newbie when it comes to these plants. Until this forum I didn't know these plants existed.

The peat soil that it came in was in was VERY wet(peat), so I decided to tackle the job of repotting(same pot) but a fast draining soil, since this peat looked like it would take weeks to dry out, even in Florida winter. Boy was that ever a JOB, it was very difficult removing the soil from a hanging type plant and keep it from falling apart, especially with all the branches that were hanging down, pieces were almost coming off the root ball. Unfortunately for me it wasn't one root mass, but many rooted cuttings. I removed most of the old peat soil as best I could trying to keep the root ball intact as much as possible.

I live in florida and was wondering if these plants are better off outside or inside? The label says medium light, so am I to assume no direct sunlight at all or can they get a few hours of morning sun? Also what type of fertilizer is best for them and how often should I apply? Should I let the soil dry out completely between watering?

I really appreciate all the advise and help, and if you think of anything else that I need to know, please share.

Thanks to all the nice people here,

Comments (26)

• greenelbows1
    16 years ago