SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
spaghetina

Diseased tomatoes? Zuke brown-ness, and lemon balm prob? (Pics)

spaghetina
14 years ago

This is my first year trying my hand at any sort of gardening, and so I am at a loss as to what's happening to my tomatoes.

1.) My Early Girls have leaves that are folding in half. Not curling, per se, they just literally look as if someone was trying to fold them up like a book.

{{gwi:79580}}

They're in a terraced area, where I mixed some Miracle Grow garden soil with our natural very clay soil, and some Kellogg Amend. There are some fruits, but overall, the plants aren't looking nearly as good as I've seen in the tomato gallery here.

2.) These 2 Sweet 100 plants are looking absolutely awful. They're scrawny, scraggly, and their leaves are tiny. There are a few trusses of fruit, but it looks like the plants are slowly dying off. Every couple days, I have to go out and snip off leaves and branches that have turned yellow. I have spotted some small, winged insects on the plants, that look something like gnats, but with longer bodies and longer wings. When I shake or move the plants, or even touch the insects, they don't move, which leads me to believe that they have some kind of sucker that they're using to suck the life out of my babies. You can see how small the leaves are by using the tomatoes as reference. They're about the same size, and Sweet 100 tomatoes are small!

Any idea what it could be, or if/how I can save these plants?

{{gwi:79581}}