SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
lynninnewmexico

Newbie Here: Can We Talk About Raised Bed Planters?

lynninnewmexico
15 years ago

I'm a regular over on GW's Kitchens, Decorating and Organizing Forums, but this is my first time here. I could really use some ( actually a lot as this progresses!) advice and ideas, as we plan our total backyard landscape.

We live in the mountains of New Mexico, south of Santa Fe (Zone5 and at approx. 6000' elevation). Our home is a 15 y/o one-story adobe hacienda-style home on approx 3 acres of land. Same with everyone around us. Great mountain and mesa views. Backyard area is pretty much untouched with some pinon and juniper trees, yucca and dirt. LOTS of rocks and boulders inground! It faces south and west. Critter problems: rabbits, packrats, rattlers and some deer (and wild horses occasionally).

Our basic backyard plan is to have adobe-look (cement block covered w chicken wire & stucco) perimeter walls, approximately 5-6' high built. Inside these walls will be our two coverd patios at both ends of the house, connected by a covered walkway. Also planned is a kiva-type fireplace built into the back wall, possibly flanked by bancos, with shaded seating area in front of it. In addition to this area, we plan on having a raised hot tub, landscaped to look more like a raised small pond with a waterfall cascading near it into a lower pond. Built-in grill area will be on main patio off back of house.

My questionable, controversial plan . . . and this is where I need your thoughts and advice: I want to have no in-ground planting, only large, adobe/adobe-look planters.