SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
cynthiarc_gw

Townhouse front yard - it is Wild! Ideas Please

cynthiarc
16 years ago

After 10 years of small yard gardening...I am still learning. Now, I really want to get to a more complete state while also renovating.

I finally got to the point of almost no grass and now I need help on what to do especially with recent impulse purchases.

Pics to follow here if I figure out how to upload.

I have an end unit townhouse and small front yard facing mostly west. It has shade til' noon and sun thereafter. Now it gets shade from Dogwood and large tree (not mine).

I just purchased a laceleaf JM veridis (spelling?)and would like to know if it makes sense under the Dogwood. I plan to move both crepe myrtles on this side of yard. I have already trimmed the Euonynmous emerald gaity behind the crepe mrytle and plan to remove it. I plan to move the crawling evergreen (since I have butchered it) and think its root will interfere with JM. The bed under the window needs renovation. ?Can I move the little Camelia? ?How about the peonies? What can I put with the eounymous under the window...I like those.

The left side is wild. I just realized in summer, you cannot see the Dragon Lady Holly because of the large crepe myrtle. I also just purchased a lacecap hydrangea that I think needs to go on side of house (north).

I have wavered between cottage and more formal. I am not a fan of symetry (obviously) but I do need rhythm and balance.

My feelings are not easily hurt...all comments and ideas welcome.

Here is a link that might be useful: Pics of front yard only

Comments (11)

• Saypoint zone 6 CT
    16 years ago

You're planning on moving the crape myrtles out, or to the right side?