SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
mystic_dragon72

Need some ideas to get me started - new here.

mystic_dragon72
15 years ago

Hello everyone! I have been browsing these forums for a couple of months now and after reading through quite a few posts I decided to become a member.

I have been searching online for design ideas for my house. We are renting this property and therefore I really don't want to put a lot of money into buying perennials that I might not see maturing. I do, however, want to put a few perennials in all the garden beds that I plan on creating around the property. It is approximately two acres of mostly grass and trees. There are Sycamore trees (about 5 mature), Maple (1 mature) Black Walnut (about 6 or 7 middle age - 15 to 20ft) a couple Cedars as well as some others that I don't know. I am not allowed to remove any of them and to be honest I don't want to. I would like to do something with the front, perhaps a large island garden of some perennials and a lot of annuals to break up the monotony of all that grass. We are planning on putting in a large (30X20') vegetable garden on the north side of the property.

Here's a bird's eye view of the property. {{gwi:27745}}

I know what I am going to be doing under each tree so that's not an issue, what I'm looking for advice on is the front and back of the house. You can tell from the direction labels on the above photo which way the house faces. As far as soil type, from what I can tell it's sandy loam but not very nutrient rich. I don't know what the pH level is as I haven't had it tested yet but I am planning on getting a truckload of either compost or mulch delivered to condition the soil before planting. I'm starting from scratch here as all the places that I want to put my planting beds are in grass right now. Below are a few more photos of our property.