SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
girlndocs

WOW factor

girlndocs
17 years ago

Browsing through old threads I noticed several references to wow factor and how misleading/distracting it can be. For instance, GardenGal wrote:

As an inveterate garden tourer and avid watcher of anything landscape-related on HGTV, the aesthetics seem to be what is emphasized and is what my fellow tourers immediately note: "WOW! Look at that gorgeous Japanese maple.", "WOW, look at that cool piece of sculpture, water feature, collector plant, massed hosta bed.....yada, yada, yada. What gets easily overlooked is the spatial layout, how the planting areas relate to each other, the site and to the residence, if the hardscaping is well-conceived and well-executed and appropriate to its function and if the design requirements have been met.

As a design novice I've been catching myself being drawn to WOW factor and trying to figure out what's behind it that I've been missing. I wonder if anyone else (novice or helpful expert) would like to join me in figuring out some pictures of WOW factor that caught my eye. Sometimes these scenes are so hard to visually disassemble that I can't seem to do it, and I don't know if that indicates a seamless design job, or just my untrained eye and lack of landscaping experience.

Here's one to start with:

{{gwi:25318}}

This image actually causes a knot in my gut, the response to the repetitive pattern (bricks and boards) and circular shape is so strong. WOW. Could someone help me understand the design priciples that have been involved to create this effect? What am I missing, in the backdrop or behind the scenes, that might make this different if I were to try, for example, to execute it in my own yard?

Kristin

Comments (34)

• girlndocs
    Original Author
    17 years ago

OK, I'm going to take a crack at this myself, excuse me for responding to my own post.