SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
beecho_gw

what are your hardest seeds to germinate...

beecho
13 years ago

This is my first year starting everything from seed so there has been alittle trial and error but so far a lot of success. I notice a lot of people have trouble with germination but I haven't had any problems this season. Mostly tomatoes, peppers, and herbs but there are a few other veges too. If i had to pick one type that was giving me alittle trouble it would be the placido peppers but that is more of me not being patient enough. lol I know a lot of what i started indoors grows easily, so i was wondering what everybody elses trouble seeds would be?

Comments (33)

• Ali Eggenburg Alldredge
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Peppers and eggplants...I don't always use fresh seed and my basement is still pretty chilly this time of year. I was able to start rosemary from seed last year, but so far no luck this year (I forgot to take cuttings).

Here is a link that might be useful: Zone 5 garden blog

• User
    13 years ago

Triploid watermelons. The seedless kind.

• Related Discussions

accelerating germination of slow-to-germinate seeds

Q

Comments (2)
    Celery.. No cover light required for germination at 70F taking 10-17 days.....Rutabaga/turnip light cover temp 70F taking 7-14 days to germinate.....Carrot light cover soil temp 64-72F taking 10-21 days....Lettuce light cover soil temp 65-70F taking 6-10 days to germinate. Many inserts for growing seedlings are 1 inch deep but others for starting trees are 6 inches deep & may be used for starting root crops.Starting in a cold frame is common & instead of using FRESH manure on the surface I use it & cover with 1-2 incches of sand & it generates a lot of heat. A light bulb will also help. Also look on the package it gives time to maturity ....pick those varities with with the shortest time to maurity. I hope this helps
    ...See More