SHOP PRODUCTS
Houzz Logo Print
tragikmuse

General Newb Questions

tragikmuse
17 years ago

As a child my father always had a garden. Unfortnately as I grew up enough to appreciate it, he was gone. For many years, I have wanted to have a garden just never had the land available to do it. Being a military brat, you never settle in one place very long so it makes a real garden hard to do. Now, with my mother overseas, i am keeping her home and she woudl kill me if i tore up a section of the back yard so i have decided container gardening is for me! As a total newb, i have a ton of questions and sifting thru all teh information in the forum has proved both intimidating and incomplete as i can never find exactly what i am looking for. Any help you guys can offer would be amazing. It's worth mentioning that i am on an extremely limited budget as i work partime and am in school for herbalism and aromatherapy as well as computers.

I am primarily interested in growing the following: lettuce, onions, tomatos, garlic, cucumbers, green beans, brocolli, carrots, okra, zucchini, yellow crooked neck squash, potatos, peppers, ginger, spinach, and perhaps some melons like cantaloupe or honeydew (watermelons would be nice but i am concerned about space) and berries like strawberries and black berries. I'm not sure what types of these is really compatible with my zone (8) and will do well in containers. I would like to grow these mostly organically (if it can apply to plastic pots) so i am interested in strains that are disease resistant.. This is where I seem to need the most help. If you've a good idea where i can get the seed, that will help as well since most of the seed i see sold hasn't got the type on it save for the Burpee's display.